Trying to remember how to blog

Well, I had bold words about not being stressed out about the end of grad school. Ha! Youthful optimism is not yet beyond me! It started off OK, and then comps hit, and all my best intentions of keeping up with blogging and reading and making pretty things went out the window as a very stressful semester wound down.

My to-read goal has fallen behind the nice healthy lead I built up.
My yarn stash exploded between retail-therapy yarny purchases and reduced crafting time.
My poor cats had to triple their efforts at obnoxiousness just to get my attention.
My laundry… sorta didn’t happen as frequently as it should have.
But… it’s done now. (The semester, I mean. Laundry still is a little behind.)
All those places where I refer to myself as an almost-librarian need to change; I’m not sure that’s sunk in yet. I’ve achieved the goal that’s dominated the last three years of my life. I don’t have the paper, but I do have the transcript, and that suffices for the moment.
So what’s next? New goals, of course. I’ve got a few.
First and foremost, now that the bulk of my learning isn’t coming from structured classes, I’m ready to start exploring things I’ve wanted to learn, like new fiber arts. It’s time to learn to spin, I think. If I’m feeling bold, it might even be time to figure out the mysteries of my sewing machine. It’s all up to me now.
Get back to my reviewing. I feel so rusty after a few months of barely having time to read, much less review. I’d also like to branch out and start doing more pre-publication reviews. To that end, I’ve invested in a device to help me accomplish this. Yeah, totally a professional investment >.>
I may be inordinately pleased that my Kindle case matches the knitted cozy a friend made me :).

My precious. First book I downloaded was Cat Valente’s The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of her own Making because the end of grad school demands wit and whimsy as an antidote.

And, generally, get back to the things that got put on hold with school – the gym, crafting, blogging.
I gave myself permission to put those on the back burner, but it’s time to start cooking again. So here’s to a reboot of the blog.
1 Comment

Filed under actual-blogging-content, library, resolutions

One response to “Trying to remember how to blog

  1. Pingback: 2016 in Review | Yarn in the Stacks

Leave a Reply

